G & S Society of Winnipeg auditions for Pirates of Penzance

By , March 8, 2012

The Gilbert and Sullivan Society of Winnipeg

Annual General Meeting

Monday, September 15, 2014

St Andrew’s River Heights United Church auditorium

Corner of Kingsway and Oak

 

Bring your friends and relations to help celebrate the 25th anniversary of the G & S Society of Winnipeg.

Special Guest speaker:  Fred Cross, the ultimate G & S patter performer, will delight you with his views on G & S from behind the curtain.  Goodies and punch included!

 

 

 

AUDITION NOTICE

The Gilbert & Sullivan Society of Winnipeg’s production of

The Pirates of Penzance

Director – Reid Harrison

Music Director & Conductor – Michelle Mourre

Production dates: April 22, 24 & 25, 2015 – 7:30 p.m.; April 25, 2015 – 2:00 p.m.

Pantages Playhouse Theatre

Rehearsals will begin on Sunday, January 25. There will be full cast rehearsals on Sundays (2:00 – 5:00) and Mondays (7:00 – 10:00.) There will also be rehearsals for soloists on Wednesdays (7:00 – 10:00.)

Leading up to the production, there will be additional full cast rehearsals on:

Tuesday, April 14 (7:00 – 10:00) Thursday, April 16 (7:00 – 10:00)

Saturday, April 18 (2:00 – 5:00) Sunday, April 19 (7:00 – 10:00)

Monday, April 20 (7:00 – 11:00)

Tuesday, April 21 – 7:30 dress rehearsal

There will not be a rehearsal on Sunday, April 5th (Easter).

There will be music rehearsals on Sunday, October 19 (2:00 – 5:00), Monday, October 20 (7:00 – 10:00) and Sunday, October 26 (2:00 – 5:00).

Auditions will take place on Saturday, September 27 and Sunday, September 28, 2014. An audition can be arranged by contacting Jan Malabar (204-943-6400 or jan_malabar@yahoo.ca).

Prepare an audition song from musical theatre, Gilbert & Sullivan or opera (in English). An accompanist will be provided.

Roles to be cast

Major-General Stanley – baritone

The Pirate King – bass-baritone

Samuel – baritone

Frederic – tenor

Sergeant of Police – bass

Mabel – soprano

Edith – mezzo-soprano

Kate – mezzo-soprano

Ruth – contralto

plus a chorus of Pirates, Police, and General Stanley’s Daughters

 

 

 




 

Panorama Theme by Themocracy